What the Levels Mean

Approximate Grade/Book Levels for Average Students


Book Leveling


A, B

Grade 1

C, D (early)
E, F (middle)
G, H (late)

Grade 2

I, J (early)
K, L (middle)
M (late)

Grade 3

N (early)
O (middle)
P (late)

Grade 4

Q (early)
R (middle)
S (late)

Grade 5

T (early)
U (middle)
V (late)

When children are reading fluently and with comprehension beyond this level,
levels are no longer required.

The above table was provided by Barry Greene.